Belgium's dance diva par excellence, Kate Ryan, is back with a new album Electroshock. The album, Kate's fifth studio release is her first collection of new material since Free in 2008. Electroshock was originally slated for a 2011 release and has been delayed on numerous occasions but finally got released on June 25 2012.

The Swedes have had a big hand in the production of this album, Anders Hansson - responsible for the smash hit Release Me by Agnes - has co-produced twelve of the fourteen tracks. Electroshock has a slick feel and is very well-produced dance pop. It is radio-friendly and would play well across Europe.

The album is Kate's first not to include any cover versions and also her first not to contain any tracks completely in French. Electroshock has already spawned three singles. The lead single and first on the tracklist, LoveLife, was released in the spring of 2011 (and will always have a special place for us at because it reminds us of our time in Düsseldorf), the single managed to chart in Belgium, Netherlands, Slovakia and Spain.

In October 2011 single number two, Broken, followed. The song is a collaboration with rapper, Narco. Although the single failed to set the charts alight (it peaked at #30 on the Flanders Ultratop 50 in Belgium) it was strong effort and refreshing to see a new direction with Kate Ryan working alongside a rap artist.

Broken paved the way for the third and latest single to be cut from the album. Robots debuted in May 2012 and to date has become the highest charting single to be lifted from Electroshock, peaking at #12 so far in Belgium.

Apart from the single with Narco, Electroshock contains two other collaborations. The first of these being Little Braveheart with fellow Eurovision diva, Charlotte Perrelli. The song was penned by Fredrik Kempe and Alexander Jonsson. The pair also wrote Perrelli's 2012 Melodifestivalen entry The Girl. Kempe is also known to Eurovision fans as the writer of the Swedish entries in 2008, 2009 and 2011. The version of Little Braveheart on Electroshock differs to the one released on Charlotte Perrelli's latest album as Kate has recorded her part of the song in French. These French lyrics are the only ones to be included on this album. Perhaps the pair should have entered it to Melodifestivalen?

The final collaboration is on the track Run Away with Swedish DJ, remixer and producer Tim Berg - perhaps better known as Avicii. The track is a strong dance track with the typical Avicii sound and has massive hit potential so it is a surprise to find it stuck on to the tail end of the album.

Overall, the collection is a strong pop dance record. Apart from those already mentioned, the tracks Walk To The Beat and Everytime stood out. Hopefully, the lifespan of the album will not be affected by the fact that three singles have already materialised prior to its release. The album could perform well all over Europe and even beyond so it will be interesting to see if this happens.

Follow Daniel on Twitter - @tewyUK